Die Konferenz zu Docker und Co.
Mannheim, Congress Center Rosengarten,
14.-17. November 2016

Deutsche Version

// Call for Propsals

The deadline for proposals has expired.

The first ever edition of ContainerConf will take place alongside Continuous Lifecycle at the Congress Center Rosengarten between November 14 and 16, 2016. The conference wants to equip software developers, software architects, DevOps, administrators, project leads and IT strategists with knowledge of current containerisation methods and addresses the most important processes and tools for shipping high-quality software using Docker & Co as well as its expanding ecosystem.

The event is presented by heise Developer, the online channel for software development; dpunkt.verlag, publisher of reference books for the professional computing scene; and iX, the magazine for professional information technology. Speakers are invited to propose talks and workshops for ContainerConf 2016 until June 6, 2016. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Tools

  • Containerisation with Docker
  • Alternatives such as rkt, Solaris Zones, FreeBSD Jails, and OpenVZ as well as LXC on Linux
  • Important tools from the internal Docker ecosystem (e.g. Compose, Swarm, Machine, Registry, Data Center, Aurora)
  • Important tools from the external Docker ecosystem (single-host and multi-node tools)
  • Orchestration of application containers and cluster management (e.g. Kubernetes, Mesosphere, CoreOS, Rancher)

Best Practices

  • Integration: Docker with techniques such as KVM, VMware, Xen, OpenStack, Mesos, Capistrano, Fabric, Ansible, Chef, Puppet, and SaltStack
  • Monitoring and logging
  • Security aspects of Docker environments
  • How do development pipelines and Docker fit together?
  • Experiential reports: Pointers, tricks, and best practices for setting up an efficient container workflow as well as obstacles along the way

Miscellaneous

  • Teamwork makes the dream work: standardisation efforts around Docker, rkt and Kubernetes
  • Cultural aspects during introduction and operation of Docker & Co (“DevOps”)
  • Container applications as a template for microservice architectures

Please indicate, whether you prefer a presentation lasting up to 70 minutes or a short session of up to 40 minutes. Workshops have been scheduled for full days (6 hours). To evaluate your proposed presentation, the organisers ask you to send in a target-group-specific abstract (400-700 characters). Supplementary materials (long abstracts, slides, papers, etc.) are also welcome. The deadline for submissions is May 30, 2016. The complete schedule will be available online by the beginning of July.

Conference board members are: Julia Schmidt (heise Developer; responsible) and René Schönfeldt (dpunkt.verlag; responsible), as well as Timo Derstappen (Giant Swarm), Benjamin Muskalla (Tasktop), Steffen Schluff (OIO), and Eberhard Wolff (independent expert).

If you have any questions regarding the conference or the schedule of events, please don't hesitate to contact us via programmkomitee@containerconf.de

Die Konferenz zu Docker und Co.
Mannheim, Congress Center Rosengarten,
14.-17. November 2016

English version

// Call for Propsals

Die Einreichfrist für Proposals ist abgelaufen.

Vom 14. bis 16. November 2016 findet im Congress Center Rosengarten in Mannheim zum ersten Mal die ContainerConf statt. Die Konferenz richtet sich an Entwickler, Softwarearchitekten, DevOps, Administratoren, Projektleiter und IT-Strategen. Ihnen vermittelt sie Grundlagen und wesentliche Aspekte zu den derzeit angesagten Containertechniken und macht sie vertraut mit den wichtigsten Prozessen und Werkzeugen für die Auslieferung qualitativ hochwertiger Software auf Basis von Docker & Co. und seinem zunehmend größer werdenden Ökosystem.

Veranstalter sind heise Developer, der Online-Channel zur Softwareentwicklung, dpunkt.verlag, der Fachbuchverlag für die professionelle Computing-Szene, und iX, das Magazin für professionelle Informationstechnik. Die Ausrichter der Konferenz suchen bis 6. Juni 2016 für die ContainerConf 2016 Vorträge und ganztägige Workshops zu beispielsweise den folgenden Themen:

Prozesse

  • Containerisierung mit Docker
  • Alternativen wie rkt, Solaris Zones, FreeBSD Jails und auf Linux OpenVZ und LXC
  • Wichtige Werkzeuge aus dem internen Docker-Ökosystem (z.B. Compose, Swarm, Machine, Registry, Data Center, Aurora)
  • Wichtige Werkzeuge des externen Docker-Ökosystems (Single-Host- und Multi-Node-Tools)
  • Orchestrierung von Anwendungscontainern und Cluster-Management (z.B. Kubernetes, Mesosphere, CoreOS und Rancher)

Best Practices

  • Integration: Docker im Verbund mit anderen Techniken wie KVM, VMware, Xen, OpenStack, Mesos, Capistrano, Fabric, Ansible, Chef, Puppet und SaltStack
  • Monitoring und Logging
  • Sicherheitsaspekte von Docker-Umgebungen
  • Wie passen Deployment-Pipelines und Docker zusammen?
  • Erfahrungsberichte: Tipps & Tricks, Best Practices und Fallstricke im Container-Workflow

Verschiedenes

  • Alle an einem Strang: Standardisierungsbemühungen rund um Docker, rkt und Kubernetes
  • Kulturelle Aspekte bei Einführung und Betrieb von Docker & Co. („DevOps“)
  • Container-Anwendungen als Mustertechnik für Microservice-Architekturen

Gewünscht sind entweder Langvorträge bis zu 70 Minuten oder kurze Sessions bis zu 40 Minuten. Workshops sind als ganztägige Veranstaltungen (mind. 6 h) geplant. Die Organisatoren bitten dafür um die Einreichung zielgruppengerecht ausgearbeiteter Abstracts (ca. 400 bis 700 Zeichen) bis zum 30. Mai 2016. Die Bewerbung unterstützendes Zusatzmaterial (Lang-Abstracts, Slides, Aufsätze etc.) sind ebenfalls willkommen. Das fertige Programm wird Anfang Juli online stehen.

Das Programmkomitee besteht aus Julia Schmidt (heise Developer; verantwortlich) und René Schönfeldt (dpunkt.verlag; verantwortlich) sowie Timo Derstappen (Giant Swarm), Benjamin Muskalla (Tasktop), Steffen Schluff (OIO) und Eberhard Wolff (innoQ).

Sollten Sie Fragen zur Konferenz oder zum Programm haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an programmkomitee@containerconf.de